| | | |
| | |

Elizabeth G. Hill

VIDEO: Boulez - Dérive 2

VIDEO: Boulez - Dérive 2

For the first time, the complete video of our performance of Dérive 2 by Pierre Boulez is available online. Happy Birthday to the late Pierre Boulez, born on this day in 1925.

Year in Review

Year in Review

Before the year comes to a close, we're taking a look back at the highlights that made 2016 memorable, meaningful, and magical.

Open Letter

Open Letter

An open letter from our Music Director. Jordan Randall Smith | Founder & Music Director

Dear Friends and Family,

Thanks to all of you, Baltimore now has a new cultural organization, Symphony Number One, and the internet has a new place for exciting and meaningful music by emerging composers. You helped us build it, you helped fund it, and you should be proud of everything that's come out of it!

Beethoven's Kitchen | Debut

Beethoven's Kitchen | Debut

We are thrilled to announce SNO’s new chamber music series, Beethoven’s Kitchen, serving up aged classics alongside fresh and flavorful new works in intimate settings!

New Photos

New Photos

A number of our new photos have arrived! Take a look at some of our great new head shots, featuring core orchestra members and Light City guest artists alike.

Happy Holidays

View more holiday photos on our Facebook page.

Happy Holidays from Symphony Number One! We had a fantastic performance at the Maryland VA Hospital. 

More Updates!

Album sales, Nominees, Andrew Boss and more!

Posted by Symphony Number One on Tuesday, December 22, 2015
We're Live!

Happy Holidays from all of us at Symphony Number One!

Posted by Symphony Number One on Monday, December 21, 2015

Call for Scores 2 | Nominees

Congratulations to the Round 1 Nominees for Symphony Number One's second Call for Scores!

The following composers have been nominated for promotion to Round 2 by one or more of our Round 1 panelists. (Composer order is arbitrary.)  

The nominees are:

  • Stephen Gorbos
  • Nick DiBerardino
  • Alican Çamcı
  • Evan Ware
  • Martha Callison Horst
  • Paul Richards
  • Luna Pearl Woolf
  • Michael Betz
  • Luke Carlson
  • John Hennecken
  • Kaito Nakahori
  • Kyle Krause
  • Vicente Hansen
  • Oren Boneh
  • Ashkan Behzadi
  • Nick Omiccioli
  • Dan VanHassel
  • Soosan Lolavar
  • Federico Garcia-De Castro
  • John K. Leupold II
  • John Allemeier
  • Peter Dayton
  • Edward J . RosenBerg III
  • Scott Ordway
  • Daniel James Valentine
  • Michael-Thomas Foumai
  • Marc Hoffeditz

Special thanks to our Round 1 Judges for carefully considering all 120 entries and 240 scores! Our Round 1 judges are:

  • Alexa Rinn
  • Jonathan Hugendubler
  • Scott Miller
  • Elizabeth Hill
  • Christy Muncey
  • Andrew Boss


Pictured Left-to-Right: Nicholas Bentz, Jordan Randall Smith, Christopher Ciampoli


Congratulations to the Round 1 Nominees for Symphony Number One's second Call for Scores! The Nominees are:Stephen...

Posted by Symphony Number One on Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Symphony Number One is Baltimore's Newes Chamber Orchestra, devoted to substantial works by emerging composers.